top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBWI2020

Serena Sinclair

Updated: Nov 1, 2020



Queen’s and WiSE alumni here! I graduated this past May from Computer Engineering with an internship at IBM Cloud. This September, I joined PwC Canada’s Cybersecurity Advisory practice. My onboarding experience was different to what I expected, due to the pandemic, as it was fully virtual but I couldn’t have imagined a better experience.

We received our laptops via delivery a few days before starting and were then tasked with the setup process on our first day. On the first day, we were given time to work out technological kinks before training officially began on the second day. I’m fortunate that PwC Canada tried to make onboarding as intuitive and normal as possible for the new joiners. Extensive efforts were put in place to connect the new hires with the rest of the team and make us feel welcome. We still got the full onboarding experience, including [virtual] networking events!


While this year has been filled with challenges and uncertainty for all of us, I’m grateful that I can work productively remote . This sentiment has been echoed by my friends in the technology field as well! I work in a division of the Cybersecurity, Privacy and Financial Crimes practice called Cyber as a Service (CaaS). We manage and maintain cybersecurity as an outsourced service for our clients, which include some of the biggest companies in Canada. While my position is in Advisory, I work in the more technical side. On the day to day, I’m responsible for ensuring that the technology we use is functioning and we are meeting security compliance standards. I also help out regularly with other teams who need extra support which provides great opportunities and exposure to the full breadth of the practice.

One of the best aspects of working in Consulting is the fast paced environment. Because of this, in the short two months that I’ve been with PwC Canada, I’ve had the chance to hop around to different teams in CaaS to help with projects. This has helped me network with my colleagues in a setting where making organic connections by having casual conversations at lunch isn’t possible. Regardless, nothing can replace face to face communication and contact.

It’s undeniable that making personal connections with my new colleagues has been impacted by working from home. However, the firm still found ways to help connect the team through virtual social events. Working from a small bedroom office could get lonely sometimes, so it was great to catch up and connect with the other new joiners on casual calls. We also have regular online meetings with our coaches to share updates. Overall, I know things would be different if I could be with my colleagues in the office, however I feel connected to my team and my colleagues regardless.


Nevertheless working from home has some major benefits too, such as flexibility! As I no longer have to commute, this gives me more free time to do what I enjoy, such as running before work or running errands when I have breaks. Work is now more integrated with my lifestyle versus my lifestyle being split between work and personal time. Because of the flexibility, I can work at my best and feel more productive at home!


The biggest lesson 2020 has taught me is people’s resilience and ability to adapt. This point has resonated over and over during my time at PwC Canada. The team has not only done a great job of maintaining a sense of normalcy for the new hires, but also the mindset and attitude of the team have inspired me personally to be optimistic and persevere.

A year ago, none of us could’ve imagined the position we would all be in right now. I never imagined that the launch of my career would be fully virtual when I returned from my internship in my 4thyear of undergrad. However, with some help from the firm, I’ve made it work, and so have the rest of my colleagues. I’m sure many of you have experienced an unexpected turn in your university career and are still finding a way to not only make it through, but excel.


Some advice I can offer current STEM students is to be engaged on campus, go on internships if you can, have an open mind when looking at career options, and make sure to incorporate self-care into your week. Getting involved in different clubs is not only a great way to build a network, but you can learn new skills and use your classroom knowledge in a real-world setting. Although this piece of advice may be more difficult to follow during the current times, be sure to take advantage of opportunities that come your way to get involved in student-organized initiatives.


Going on an internship was one of the best decisions I made during my time at Queen’s. I built a solid set of technical skills and work ethic that have helped me immensely in my current position. I also made lots of connections while on internship and built a great network that I can rely on for advice and mentorship.


When I first started applying for full-time positions, I had my mind set on going into a technical field, since that is the background I came from. However, after I interviewed with PwC Canada, my mind completely changed, and I decided to pursue Consulting. I fell in love with the culture at PwC Canada and I couldn’t imagine myself starting my career anywhere else. I took a chance when applying for a Consulting position and it paid off in a major way. I love the work I do now, it’s a great mix of Consulting and technical work. Don’t limit yourself when looking at career fields to pursue, you may also find yourself taking an unexpected, but very positive turn.


Lastly, as cliché as it sounds, self-care is very important! It means something different to everyone, but in order to be a high performer, you need to be at your best.


I hope giving you an insight into my new career journey has been helpful in some way. If anyone has any questions for me, I would love to connect and advise. Please also feel free to connect with me on LinkedIn.


Also feel free to ask me a question below!

234 views9 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page